Trouble with .m4A files

Hello All,
I am a newbie. I have tried to search and find the answer to my problem but have not had luck.
I know this has been discussed before (Sorry) but I still could not find the answer.

I put a bunch of my own older CDs into itunes library. When I look at the files they have the extension .m4A. They are encoded with itunes v7.6.0.29, Quicktime 7.4.1 (not sure what this means…just found it on get info) These will not play on TVersity on the PC or on the HR20. I see them in the library but when I click on one the message below appears…

ERROR MESSAGE FROM TVersity
“Timeout loading this track. Please make sure tversity is running(IT IS), the audiotrack exists (IT DOES), it will play on itunes(IT DOES) and can be converted to mp3(I DONT KNOW?). Are you missing a direct show filter?”

So via searches here I found one thread that mentioned downloading directshow filter which I did. I downloaded (per the thread’s included link) CoreAAC 1.2.0.575 rev.3

However…being rather ignorant about all this stuff I was not sure where to extract it to… I put it in tversity’s Codec pack folder? Not sure if this was correct place? Anyhow…it did not fix the problem after restarting computer.

Any help or direction you might provide would be greatly appreciated!8)

It sounds like it may not be registered if you just copied it to a folder.

just open a command prompt and the command is:

regsvr32 c:\the\path\where\you\copied\coreaac.ax

I am sorry to be dense but I am not sure what you mean. When the file downloaded it created a folder that needed to be extracted. When I extracted it I did not know where to send it… i.e. leave it in the Temp directory. So I sent it to the TVversity coden folder.

I can download it again but when I extract it where should I direct it to install/extract to?

Thanks again.